Independent consumer resource Not affiliated with Extra Space Storage
Independent review archive / Updated September 21, 2026

Behind the storage unit, real experiences.

A collection of publicly posted customer reviews and complaints about Extra Space Storage. Read concise summaries, then follow each link to see the original account in context.

This is a selected collection of critical reports, not every online review or a representative rating of the company.

PUBLIC REVIEWSORIGINAL SOURCESINDEPENDENT ARCHIVEUPDATED SEPTEMBER 2026
WHAT YOU WILL FIND

Browse the issues reviewers have described.

Search by topic, reviewer or location. Pricing concerns appear often in this selected archive, alongside comments about billing, notices, access, conditions and climate control.

THE REVIEW ARCHIVE

Customer reports.

Short summaries of public accounts. Open each source for the full review, platform context, any replies and subsequent updates.

Showing reports

PricingTrustpilot

From $32 to $63 within a year

Elle reports a rental price of $32 per month rising to $42 and then $63 within a year.

Elle MarsLocation not stated · Sep 14, 2026

R001 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Rate changes across multiple rentals

Lisa describes large rent increases across several units, including rentals that did not start with a promotional rate.

LisaRound Rock, TX · Sep 12, 2026

R002 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingTrustpilot

Reported $218 to $364 in ten months

Pat says rent began at $218 in December 2025, rose to $283, and was scheduled to increase to $364 in October 2026.

Pat ChwaliszewskiSan Diego, CA · Sep 12, 2026

R003 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Climate controlBBB complaint

Complaint about paid climate control

A customer complained that a climate controlled building felt too hot. Extra Space replied that a manager would follow up about the air conditioning.

ComplainantLocation withheld by BBB · Sep 8, 2026

R004 · Summary of a public complaintFind original
Climate controlBBB complaint

Complaint over advertised climate control

A customer reported renting a climate controlled unit but finding its heating or cooling not functioning. Extra Space said the concern was forwarded for follow-up.

ComplainantLocation withheld by BBB · Sep 7, 2026

R005 · Summary of a public complaintFind original
RefundsTrustpilot

Dispute over unused rent after move-out

Lorin says rent doubled without notice and that unused rent was not refunded after cancellation.

Lorin MustoeLocation not stated · Sep 4, 2026

R006 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
BillingTrustpilot

Downsized unit later became more expensive

Nicole says a larger unit rose from $104 to $164, then a smaller unit priced at $87 was later billed at $173.

nicole pankeyLocation not stated · Sep 4, 2026

R007 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingTrustpilot

From $130 to $246 over 14 months

Charles reports a monthly price change from $130 to $246 over 14 months after switching units.

Charles HikesLocation not stated · Aug 30, 2026

R008 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingTrustpilot

Reports a $53 to $101 increase after two months

Becca says a rate of $53 rose to $101 after two months, despite an otherwise positive initial experience with the property.

Becca WindersLocation not stated · Aug 27, 2026

R009 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingTrustpilot

From $177 to $255 after a short rental period

Kevin says he received notice that his $177 monthly price would become $255 about two and a half months into the rental.

Kevin MossKnoxville, TN · Aug 25, 2026

R010 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Climate controlTrustpilot

Reports a hot climate controlled unit

Jenny says her monthly rent reached $269 and reports that the climate controlled space felt excessively warm.

Jenny BLocation not stated · Aug 24, 2026

R011 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
NoticesTrustpilot

Reports a 30 percent increase without notice

Keith says monthly rent rose by 30 percent and that he did not receive advance notification.

Keith AndrewsLocation not stated · Aug 19, 2026

R012 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Monthly rate rose from $134 to $278

Bibi reports paying $134 initially, then $187, and later $278 per month for a 10 by 10 unit.

BibiBerwyn, IL · Aug 13, 2026

R013 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
BillingTrustpilot

Disputes notice, payment handling and move-out timing

A reviewer says staff gave conflicting move-out information, had the wrong email on file and disagreed with the customer over payment authorization.

Trustpilot reviewerMiddletown, location unspecified · Aug 11, 2026

R014 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Climate controlTrustpilot

Reports hot upper floor and trash concerns

The reviewer says the second floor at a Chippewa Street property was very hot and describes a lack of accessible trash receptacles.

Trustpilot reviewerSt. Louis, MO · Aug 9, 2026

R015 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Unit conditionsTrustpilot

Reports a leak after a year of price increases

A reviewer says a unit developed a leak and that rent moved from $99 to $215 over roughly a year.

Trustpilot reviewerLocation not stated · Aug 4, 2026

R016 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Unit conditionsTrustpilot

Reports mice damaging possessions

A reviewer says mice damaged belongings in their unit and that they discarded affected items.

Trustpilot reviewerLocation not stated · Jul 30, 2026

R017 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Rate reportedly doubled within six months

Linda says the initial monthly price doubled within six months and describes confusion during calls about the rate.

LindaForest Park, IL · Jul 27, 2026

R018 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Price more than doubled after four months

J reports signing up online without a stated promotion and seeing the monthly price more than double after four months.

JJenks, OK · Jul 21, 2026

R019 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

From $29 to $80 in roughly a year

Christy describes monthly rent changing from $29 to $59 after six months, then to $80 after one year.

ChristyLake Saint Louis, MO · Jul 20, 2026

R020 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Smaller unit also saw a rate increase

Alex says a smaller unit rented at $49 a month was later scheduled to increase to $85.

AlexPlano, TX · Jul 19, 2026

R021 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

More than $150 in increases within a year

Theresa reports that the monthly cost increased by more than $150 within the first 12 months.

TheresaLas Vegas, NV · Jul 2, 2026

R022 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
NoticesConsumerAffairs

Two increases allegedly arrived without notice

Rebecca says the rent was raised twice and reports not receiving advance notice of either increase.

RebeccaBaltimore, MD · Jul 1, 2026

R023 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Recurring increases prompted a smaller unit

Maria says the price changed after move-in and that she switched to a smaller unit to manage the cost.

MariaEl Cajon, CA · Jun 25, 2026

R024 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Car storage rate increased by $80

The reviewer reports that a car storage unit priced at $200 per month was raised by $80 after three months.

WonderCrystal Lake, IL · Jun 22, 2026

R025 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Reported progression from $22 to $99

Ken describes a unit going from $22 to $52 and later to $99 per month, and says the increases were not communicated to him.

KenSarasota, FL · Jun 19, 2026

R026 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
ServiceConsumerAffairs

Difficulty getting a response about a higher bill

Delana reports discovering that rent had more than doubled and says a promised manager callback did not arrive that day.

DelanaOmaha, NE · Jun 15, 2026

R027 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Unit conditionsConsumerAffairs

Reports rodent damage to stored belongings

Tinita says rodents damaged furniture and other items in a unit and describes throwing away contaminated belongings.

TinitaMableton, GA · May 31, 2026

R028 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
BillingConsumerAffairs

Autopay issue followed by a late fee

Catherine says an automatic payment failed after a facility ownership change and that she was assessed a $50 late fee.

CatherineHoboken, NJ · May 13, 2026

R029 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
Climate controlConsumerAffairs

Reports extended climate control problems

The reviewer says a Maui facility had gone 139 days without functioning climate control and describes a dispute over credits.

henriPaia, HI · May 7, 2026

R030 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Monthly bill reportedly rose from $144 to $277

Melissa reports a jump from $144 to $277 per month and says the reduced rate offered after she called was $235.20.

MelissaFresno, CA · May 4, 2026

R031 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Two successive bill increases

Jeaneaus describes one monthly increase of $40 and a later increase of $24.

JeaneausOklahoma City, OK · May 3, 2026

R032 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
BillingConsumerAffairs

Disagreement over a lock refund

Randall says staff declined to refund the cost of an unused lock after move-out, despite what he understood at rental.

RandallLas Vegas, NV · Apr 28, 2026

R033 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Rate reportedly increased 80 percent

Grace describes an approximately 80 percent rent increase after four months and says the change was unexpected.

GraceCincinnati, OH · Apr 21, 2026

R034 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
PricingConsumerAffairs

Rate changed after a six month prepayment

Angela says a unit initially costing about $70 per month rose to roughly $160 after a six month prepaid period.

AngelaStaten Island, NY · Apr 20, 2026

R035 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
NoticesConsumerAffairs

Disputed $100 increase and notice

Hadley reports a monthly increase of $100 and says the facility could not find a record of advance notification.

HadleyGreenwich, CT · Apr 16, 2026

R036 · Summary of a public reviewFind original
BillingConsumerAffairs

Dispute over an advertised unit price

Ob reports reserving a unit at $50 and says staff subsequently offered a different unit or rate rather than the price discussed.

ObRound Lake, IL · Apr 9, 2026

R037 · Summary of a public reviewFind original

Finding an original: review platforms can reorder listings. Use the reviewer name and date shown on the card to locate the source if it has moved. BBB entries are complaints rather than star rated customer reviews.

A LITTLE CONTEXT

What the company says about rates.

Extra Space Storage states in its customer FAQ that the original monthly rental rate is not guaranteed for the life of a rental. It also describes an option to prepay up to six months to lock in a rate during that period. The terms for a specific unit depend on the applicable rental agreement.

Read Extra Space Storage’s rate FAQ

Before signing, ask about the price after move in.

Consider asking when your rent can change, how notices are delivered, which fees apply and what the move out requirements are. Get any rate assurance in writing.

Company contact page
HOW THIS WORKS

A transparent archive.
Not a verdict.

We selected critical reviews and complaints posted publicly on ConsumerAffairs, Trustpilot and the Better Business Bureau. Each card is an editorial summary, not a copied review or a finding that the events occurred exactly as described.

We keep the author name as publicly shown, date, source and reported location when available. Where a location was not clear, we say so. The links lead to the original platform, which may contain the complete account, business response and later updates.

This archive intentionally focuses on negative experiences and does not reflect all customers, all locations or the full balance of positive and negative reviews. Review pages and complaint statuses may change after our research date of September 21, 2026.